9/11


Today I am honoring a life lost in the 9/11 tragedy. As a participant of Project 2996 I was assigned a person to write about and share their story.

Michael L. DiAgostino

diagostino

Eight years ago today, Michael DiAgostino of Garden City, NY went to work and never came home. He worked as a broker for Cantor Fitzgerald at the World Trade Center. I imagine he started that day much like any other, as we all did. No one could have imagined the outcome of the day. There is not much personal information to be found online about Michael, but I know he was a husband, father, son, grandson, uncle, friend. He was loved and he is missed. He was just 41 years old at the time of his death.

While trying to find information about Michael, I came across a few websites where some of his family members had written messages to him. Their sorrow typed out onto their computer, updates on the family for the years Michael has missed. It’s heartbreaking to read, but not as painful as it must have been to write.

I have to admit here, that this memorial is really from someone on the outside looking in. I do not live in NYC, Washington DC, or any of the cities where the planes originated from. I did not personally know anyone who was lost in these terror attacks. I can only write this as an American that was truly devastated by these cowardly acts upon our country and citizens. I will always remember where  I was when I heard the news. I recall the hours, days spent watching the coverage until I just couldn’t watch it anymore. I can not even imagine what it must have been like for the people living that nightmare, the loss the families must of felt and continue to feel. Those people did not have the luxury of  ‘turning it off’.

I apologize for not finding enough information to properly eulogize Michael, but I hope it made you think about him and how much he is missed. Today you are surely remembering the 2, 996 lives lost 8 years ago, and if you didn’t know anyone lost personally, you now know one was named Michael DiAgostino.

animated_candle

10 Responses to “9/11”

  1. Absolutely beautiful…..thanks so much for sharing. We must never forget………

  2. Thank You.

  3. thank you for sharing this. It makes us all stop and think how we take our lives for granted and we should live like each day was our last, but then we slip back into the mundane.

    I still remember Sept. 11, where I was, what I was doing, the sounds of the day, the sights I saw, how this tragedy affected different people, granted, I didn’t know any of the victims personally, but with each heartbreaking story that came from the tragic events, I felt as though I knew some of them, I cried right along with their families. I screamed, angry at the monsters responsible for the attack and changed my life so that I reached out to those people in need. I gave blood for the very first time that week. I’ve done it every 3 months since. I can’t bring those that lost their lives back, but I can help the nation never forget!

    • kahneiac9, that is amazing. Thank you so much for this wonderful tribute. Bless you……..now I must go try to stop crying (I suspect I’ll fail!).

  4. Thanks for sharing this! Everyone, today at some point in your day (what’s left of it), take a moment and thank God for your family, friends and co-workers. Also, pray for those (like Michael’s family) that lost their family, friends and co-workers 8 years ago today.

  5. TheShermanator Says:

    We will never forget.

  6. Thank you for posting that.

  7. Thanks guys for supporting this project.

  8. Thank you for that incredible piece. I remember my husband calling me that day telling me to turn on the TV, some crazy person had just crashed a plain into the WTC. No sooner had I done that then the 2nd tower was also hit. My then year-old son was supposed to have a playdate that day, and my friend still came over, but we just sat and stared at each other as our children played. We were in shock. And as I watch my 2 children now, I think about the innocence that was taken that day. All I can say is, tell your friends how much you appreciate them, tell your family you love them, for tomorrow is not promised to any of us.

    IF I KNEW

    If I knew it would be the last time
    That I’d see you fall asleep,
    I would tuck you in more tightly
    and pray the Lord, your soul to keep.
    If I knew it would be the last time
    that I see you walk out the door,
    I would give you a hug and kiss
    and call you back for one more.
    If I knew it would be the last time
    I’d hear your voice lifted up in praise,
    I would video tape each action and word,
    so I could play them back day after day.
    If I knew it would be the last time
    I could spare an extra minute
    to stop and say ” I love you,”
    instead of assuming you would KNOW I do.
    If I knew it would be the last time
    I would be ther to share your day,
    Well I’m sure you’ll have so many more,
    so I can let just this one slip away.
    For surely there’s always tomorrow
    to make up for an oversight,
    and we always get a second chance
    to make everything just right.
    There will always be another day
    to say ” I love you,”
    And certainly there’s another chance
    to say our ” Anything I can do?”
    But just in case I might be wrong,
    and today is all I get,
    I’d like to say how much I love you
    and hope we never forget.
    Tomorrow is not promised to anyone,
    young or old alike,
    And today may be the last chance
    you get to hold your loved one tight.
    So if you’re waiting for tomorrow,
    why not do it today?
    For if tomorrow never comes,
    you’ll surely regret the day,
    That you didn’t take that extra time
    for a smile, hug, or a kiss
    and you were to busy to grant someone,
    what turned out to be their one last wish.
    So hold your loved ones close today,
    and whisper in their ear,
    Tell them you’ll alway hold them dear
    Take time to say ” I’m sorry,”
    “Please forgive me,” “Thank you,” or ” It’s okay.”
    And if tomorrow never comes,
    you’ll have no regrets about today.

Leave a Reply

